Engage launched a new project during the Coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic in order to both support our wonderful independent restaurants and also to support people who live on the waterfront and in the city centre and were feeling isolated and under pressure during this time. We did Engage with... each other and Engage with... our food suppliers! It was very well received by those taking part.

Event schedule

Past events

Engage with… Lunya – Wednesday 25th March

Engage with… Skaus – Wednesday 1st April

Engage with… Casa Italia – Wednesday 8th April

Engage with… The Little Shoe – Wednesday 15th April

Engage with… Grilla – Wednesday 22nd April

Engage with… Johnny English – Wednesday 29th April

Engage with… Spice City – Wednesday 6th May

Engage with… Four Seasons – Wednesday 13th May

Engage with… Damas – Wednesday 20th May

Engage with… Cargo – Wednesday 27th May

Engage with… Amalia – Wednesday 3rd June

Engage with… Greek Taverna – Wednesday 10th June

Engage with… Maray – Wednesday 17th June

Engage with… Elif – Wednesday 1st July

Engage with… Villa Romana – Wednesday 8th July

Engage with… Lunya – Wednesday 21st October

Pre-AGM dinner table – Wednesday 4th November

How do I join the Zoom room?

You can use Zoom on your smartphone, tablet (iPad), or any computer with a webcam.

First, download and install the Zoom software onto the device you want to use.

Once you have Zoom installed, you can tap here to join our call:

Join our meeting now on this device

Or if you’re joining from a different device, open the Zoom app on the device, pick the option to “Join a meeting”, and then enter our Meeting ID:

Our Zoom Meeting ID:

6089265987

What is this project about?

Every week during lockdown in March, April, May, and June 2020, we asked city centre and waterfront residents to order a meal from a different restaurant, to be eaten at 6pm on Wednesdays whilst, at the same time, sharing stories and conversation with each other on the Zoom video call platform.

All they needed to do is place an order, and the food was delivered to their door. Reheat it by 6pm, and join the Zoom Room link we sent to them. It was as easy as that. Over the three months of lockdown, we shared meals from an impressive 15 local independent restaurants.

When the UK returned to lockdown in November, we reintroduced the neighbourhood dinner table calls.

Why did you do this?

The COVID-19 lockdown was a very stressful time for everyone, and even though most of us were confined to our homes, some of us realised we could still reach out and support businesses who are trying to survive and whom we would want to still be there when all this is over.

Other independent services worth considering

Header image courtesy of the Liverpool Echo

Project Downloads

There a re no files for this project

Twitter
Order by